Corner Market – Elgin, Oregon

Corner Market in Elgin, Oregon

The Corner Market is a piece of my childhood.  It sits on Main Street in Elgin, Oregon and was a place that my mom would send me with a few dollars to get a loaf of bread or a gallon of milk, whatever it was she needed to finish making dinner.  There would always be a few extra cents and I loved to get a 5 cent lollipop with it.  It truly was an old time, small town grocery store complete with butcher block even though it’s a tiny little store.

When I was a teenager, mom worked here for a bit. (Janice Simmons Sannar)  Sometimes during lunch break from school, I would walk down to the store to see her or catch a ride home after school.  I can close my eyes and still, all these years later, walk through the doors of that store to the same sights and smells.

One thought on “Corner Market – Elgin, Oregon

Leave a Reply

